Owl Facts

Snowy Owl

OwlPic2.jpgKnown in North America as the Arctic Owl, Great White Owl or Harfag, the Snowy Owl is a large owl of the typical owl family, Strigidae. This owl was first classified by Carolus Linnaeus in 1758. Linnaeus was a Swedish naturalist who developed binomial nomenclature to categorize and organize plants and animals. Until recently, the Snowy Owl was recognized as the only member of a distinct genus, known as Nyctea scandiaca. However, data indicates that this owl is closely related to the horned owls in the genus Bubo. The Snowy Owl is the official bird of Quebec.

Great Horned Owl

Also known as the Tiger Owl, this large owl is native to the Americas. The Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus) is an adaptable bird with a vast range. It is the most commonly distributed true owl in the Americas.

The Magellanic Horned Owl of Southern South America is generally recognized as a subspecies of the Great Horned Owl.

Barn Owl

OwlPic1.jpgThe Barn Owl (Tyto alba), also known as the Common Barn Owl, is the most widely distributed species of owl, and also one of the most prevalent of all birds. It is referred to as Common Barn Owl to differentiate it from other birds in the Tytonidae family. Tytonidae and Strigidae are the two main lineages of living owls. Barn Owls are found in almost all parts of the world, except desert and polar regions, Asia, north of the Alpide belt, most of Indonesia and the Pacific Islands.

New owl webcam “Molly”: http://www.ustream.tv/theowlbox